Facebook   Twitter   Instagram  
Post Office Gallery home page

Paul Guest Prize

Finalists announced

The Paul Guest Prize is a non-acquisitive cash prize of $15,000 which is held biennially, highlighting contemporary drawing practice in Australia. The Prize was initiated by former Family Court Judge and Olympic rower, the Honourable Paul Guest QC and encourages artists from across Australia to engage with the important medium of drawing in contemporary art practice.

‘My abiding and passionate interest in art commenced several decades ago and from those early beginnings I was introduced to contemporary art in a holistic way which ran parallel to my professional career. I appreciate that the journey for artists is, at times, a demanding and tortuous one and I trust that in some small way I have and will continue to assist them to achieve their full potential.’ The Honourable Paul M Guest, QC

Previous winners include Tom Nicholson; Heather B Swann; Peter Grziwotz and Belinda Fox .

In 2018 we are pleased to welcome back Judge Roger Butler, Senior Curator, Australian Prints and Drawings at the National Gallery of Australia.

An exhibition will feature the artworks of all finalists at Bendigo Art Gallery from 30 June - 9 September 2018.


Paul GUest Prize winner 2018

Laith McGregor, born Australia 1977
This Old Island
pencil on paper
Courtesy the artist and Station Gallery


2018 Finalists

Badra Aji
Kim Anderson
Oliver Ashworth-Martin
Carole Bann
Martin Bell
Natasha Ber
James Bonnici
Fran Callen
Carolyn Craig
Greg Creek
Adam Cusack
Dagmar Cyrulla
Graeme Drendel
Chonggang Du
Philip Faulks
Todd Fuller
Piero Clemente Garreffa
Helen Goninon
Peter Grziwotz
Pei Pei He
Bevan Honey
Amber-Rose Hulme
Alun Rhys Jones
Paul Kalemba
Martin King
Barbie Kjar
Deborah Klein
Guundie Kuchling
Max Linegar
Alanna Lorenzon
Jennifer Marshall
Terry Matassoni
Laith Mcgregor
Linda Mclean
Mali Moir
Nick Mourtzakis
Reena Naidu
Khue Nguyen
Ian Paradine
Anna Louise Richardson
Kaye Shumack
Andrew Southall
Wensi Sun
Ross Taylor
Jason Waterhouse
Paul White
Guy James Whitworth
Helen Wright
Tiger Yaltangki
Jodie Zutt

For all terms and conditions, important dates and contacts, click here.

Past winners and finalists

2016 Finalists

2014 Finalists

2012 Finalists

2010 Finalists