Facebook   Twitter   Instagram  
Post Office Gallery home page

Paul Guest Prize

Belinda Fox Monument (detail) 2008–2010 painting, drawing and collage on paper Courtesy of the artist and Niagara Galleries Winner, Paul Guest Drawing Prize 2010

‘My abiding and passionate interest in art commenced several decades ago and from those early beginnings I was introduced to contemporary art in a holistic way which ran parallel to my professional career. I appreciate that the journey for artists is, at times, a demanding and tortuous one and I trust that in some small way I have and will continue to assist them to achieve their full potential.’
Paul Guest

The Paul Guest Prize is a non-acquisitive cash prize of $12,000 which is held every two years, highlighting contemporary drawing practice in Australia. The Prize was initiated by former Family Court Judge and Olympic rower, the Honourable Paul Guest QC and encourages artists from across Australia to engage with the important medium of drawing and to create challenging and unique art works.

The next Paul Guest Prize will be held in 2016.

2010 Finalists

2012 Finalists

2014 Finalists

Heather Swann, 'You are a balloon', 2014, ink and wash on paper. Image courtesy of the artist and Karen Woodbury Gallery, Melbourne. WINNER Paul Guest Prize 2014