Facebook   Twitter   Instagram  
Post Office Gallery home page

Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize

Tim JOHNSON Community base (detail) 2010 acrylic on linen Courtesy of the artist and Tolarno  Galleries, Melbourne Winner 2011 Arthur Guy Memorial  Painting Prize

29 August - 1 November 2015

Designed to attract some of Australia’s finest contemporary artists and high calibre works, the inaugural Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize and exhibition was first held in 2003 at Bendigo Art Gallery.

Every two years the Gallery invites artists to submit entries for the Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize. The most outstanding work as judged by the selection panel is awarded an acquisitive cash prize of $50,000. The Prize was initiated by Mr Allen Guy C.B.E in honour of his late brother Arthur Guy.

Arthur Guy was born in Melbourne on 24 November 1914, the first son for Arthur and Catherine Guy. He was the only and elder sibling of Allen Rupert Guy. Arthur was educated at Camp Hill State School in Bendigo and then at Ballarat Grammar School. He enlisted in the Royal Australian Air Force in a signals unit and served in New Guinea. On 14 February 1945, aged 30, he was on a biscuit bomber mission when his plane was shot down near Lae. He is buried in the Lae War Memorial Cemetery.


The 2015 winner

Congratulations to Guan Wei, winner of the 2015 Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize.
The judges described his work Beach 5 as having 'a strong cultural message. It is a painting about Australia and the idea of cultural transformation by a Chinese born Australian artist that speaks to us about the changing nature of Australian life'.  

The independent judges for this year's prize were -

Dr Vincent Alessi, Senior Lecturer, Visual Arts and Design, La Trobe University

Jennifer Kalionis, Director, Castlemaine Art Gallery and Historical Museum

John McDonald, Art critic, Sydney Morning Herald

Peter Guy, representative of the Guy family

Julie Millowick, Vice Chair, Bendigo Art Gallery Board


The 2015 finalists:

Lyndell Brown and Charles Green

Fabrizio Biviano

Lynne Boyd

William Breen

Kevin Chin

Nadine Christensen

Marcel Cousins

Jesse Dayan

Ivan Durrant

Chris Dyson

Juan Ford

Shaun Gladwell

Helga Groves

Neil Haddon

Stephen Haley

Pei Pei He

Euan Heng

Col Jordan

Gladdy Kemarre

Adam Lee

Christian Lock

William Mackinnon

Viv Miller

Ian Parry

Josie Kunoth Petyarre

Matthew Quick

Bill Sampson

Jacqui Stockdale

Jenny Watson

Guan Wei

Previous Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize winners

Guan Wei, 'Beach no5' 2014, acrylic on canvas. Image courtesy of the artist